63.5% of Ashbourne's residents voted on Friday and babe returned Fianna Fáil's Thomas Byrne who reached the quota of 10,348 after the first count.

After the second count no candidates have reached the quota with Fine Gemael's Helen McEntee gaining 100 transfers to bring her to 7,656 votes.

Regina Doherty (FG) is on 6,889 and Darron O'Rourke (SF) is on 5,860.